Architect Julia Gersovitz awarded the 2015 Gabrielle Léger Medal

October 23, 2015

EVOQ founding partner, Julia Gersovitz, was awarded the 2015 Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Conservation in Canada by the National Trust for Canada.  The award was presented at the 2015 National Trust Conference in Calgary by the Honorable Lois Mitchell, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta. The committee recognized Julia’s contribution and added that “Mrs. Gersovitz is known among her peers for her thoughtfulness, tenacity and generous spirit as well as for the impeccable standard of her work. She is an inspiration to conservation professionals throughout Canada.” The Gabrielle Léger Medal is Canada’s premier honour for individual achievement in heritage conservation.

The award-winning architect and architectural historian has acquired over 40 years of experience in the field of heritage conservation working with private and public clients. Early in her career, she established her reputation with ground-breaking projects such as the Maison Alcan in Montreal, which, according to the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, helped change the way Canadians perceive their built heritage.  Recognized nationally as a leader in her field, Julia has worked on some of the most iconic historic buildings in Canada such as the West Block of Parliament, Toronto Union Station, and McGill University Arts Building. The jury decided to recognize Julia Gersovitz this year in light of her many professional accomplishments and published work, her dedication to teaching, and her leadership on various design review boards and volunteer organizations.

Since 1978, the Gabrielle Léger Medal for lifetime achievement has recognized individuals for their outstanding service to the country in the cause of heritage conservation. This year the jury was comprised of three leading experts – Mr. David B. Flemming, who has worked in the museum and heritage field for over 45 years; Mr. Richard M. Bégin, who has a distinguished career in communications and marketing with the federal government; and Mr. F. Morris Flewwelling, who has worked for over 40 years with various arts and heritage groups.

Julia Gersovitz is the 25th recipient of the Gabrielle Leger Medal. She joins a distinguished group of previous winners, including 2014 recipient, Dr. Christina Cameron, Julian Smith (2008) and John Bland (1994).


  • From left to right: Tom Urbaniak, Chair of the National Trust’s Board of Governors, Julia Gersovitz and Natalie Bull, Executive Director of the Heritage Canada Foundation

Back to News