James Curtiss

AIA, APT, International Associate RAICjcurtiss@evoqarchitecture.com613 998-8678

James (Jim) Curtiss joined EVOQ in 2005 and became an Associate in 2009. As the Senior Architect at EVOQ’s Ottawa office, he has led numerous projects and studies for the University of Ottawa, Public Services and Procurement Canada, and the National Capital Commission. He also works in residential design for historic properties.

Jim has wide-ranging experience in architecture and architectural construction, with an emphasis on conservation. He is a member of the National Trust for Canada and as well as a founding-member of the Quebec chapter of the Association for Preservation Technology International (APTi). For the latter, he has sat on the board of directors as chair of the chapters committee, chaired paper sessions and served as a technical reviewer for paper abstracts during conferences.

Jim has extensive experience in complex and highly-sensitive contexts. He led the restoration component of the West Block Rehabilitation Project on Parliament Hill in Ottawa for over a decade, as project manager. He also contributed to the preliminary studies for the conservation of the Wellington Building in Ottawa and directed the site documentation for the restoration of the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. Prior to his tenure at EVOQ, Jim had the privilege of working on several important buildings in the United States, such as George Washington’s historic home in Mount Vernon, the White House, and the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C.

 

Featured Projects

West Block of Parliament

Wellington Building



Contact us

Montreal 1435 St-Alexandre Street, Suite 1000 Montreal, Quebec H3A 2G4 T. 514 393-9490 F. 514 393-9498
Ottawa 44 Byward Market Square, Suite 210 Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A2 T. 613 518-2165
Toronto 366 Adelaide St. East, Suite 225 Toronto, Ontario, M5A 3X9 T. 647 723-2030
PANAQ Design Iqaluit 3 Bill Mackenzie Lane, House 3602 P.O. Box 2170 Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0 T. 867 979-2055 F. 867 979-2414

James Curtiss

AIA, APT, associé international de l’IRACjcurtiss@evoqarchitecture.com613 998-8678

James (Jim) Curtiss s’est joint à EVOQ en 2005 et est devenu collaborateur en 2009. En tant qu’architecte sénior au bureau d’EVOQ à Ottawa, il a dirigé de nombreux projets et d’études pour l’Université d’Ottawa, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada et la Commission de la capitale nationale. Il travaille également dans la conception résidentielle dans les bâtiments historiques.

Jim possède une vaste expérience de l’architecture et de la construction architecturale, toujours mettant l’accent sur la conservation. Il est membre de la Fiducie nationale du Canada ainsi que membre fondateur du chapitre québécois de l’Association internationale pour la technologie de la préservation (APTi). Pour ce dernier, il a siégé au conseil d’administration en tant que président du comité des chapitres; il a présidé des séances de travail et a servi de critique technique des résumés de communications lors des conférences.

Jim possède une vaste expérience dans des contextes complexes et extrêmement sensibles. Il a dirigé la composante de restauration du projet de réhabilitation de l’Édifice de l’ouest sur la colline Parlementaire à Ottawa pendant plus d’une décennie, en tant que gestionnaire de projet. Il a également contribué aux études préliminaires pour la conservation de l’édifice Wellington à Ottawa et a dirigé la documentation du site pour la restauration du Parlement de Trinidad-et-Tobago. Avant d’occuper son poste chez EVOQ, Jim a eu le privilège de travailler sur plusieurs bâtiments importants aux États-Unis, tels que la demeure historique de George Washington à Mount Vernon, la Maison Blanche et le Kennedy Center à Washington, DC.

 

Projets sélectionnés

Édifice de l’Ouest du Parlement

Édifice Wellington



Nous joindre

Montréal 1435, rue St-Alexandre, bureau 1000 Montréal, Québec H3A 2G4 T. 514 393-9490 F. 514 393-9498
Ottawa 44 Byward Market Square, bureau 210 Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A2 T. 613 518-2165
Toronto 366, rue Adelaide, Est, Bureau 225 Toronto, Ontario, M5A 3X9 T. 647 723-2030
PANAQ Design Iqaluit 3, Bill Mackenzie Lane, House 3602 P.O. Box 2170 Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0 T. 867 979-2055 F. 867 979-2414
EVOQ Stratégies