EVOQ Wins Two Prestigious Architecture Awards

October 28, 2016

Wellington Building and Blinderman Residence recognized for heritage architecture excellence

EVOQ Architecture (formerly FGMDA) is proud to announce that the firm has won two prestigious architecture awards from the Canadian Association of Heritage Professionals (CAHP):

 

The Wellington Building received an Award of Excellence in the category of Conservation: Architecture. The Committee and Jury thought “the project complexities were very well explained, and appreciated the high quality of the design work.” The Wellington Building is a Federal Government building in the Parliamentary Precinct of Ottawa, Ontario. EVOQ was the Heritage Conservation Architect, responsible for all aspects of the historic elements in the complex, including the exterior envelope, ornamental entrance canopy and the interior heritage spaces.  The rehabilitation, restoration and preservation of these elements were designed and managed by Julia Gersovitz, Eric Stein and Neil McNulty. The prime consultant was NORR Limited


The Blinderman Residence
received an Award of Excellence in the category of Conservation: Small & Lovely. The Committee and the Jury thought the submission was “excellent, and appreciated the sensitive minimal intervention.” The residence is the former home of renowned architect Percy Nobbs, located in Westmount, Quebec. The project was designed and managed by Julia Gersovitz, Rosanne Moss and Giovanni Diodati.

The awards were presented at the National Trust Conference in Hamilton, Ontario on October 21, 2016. “We are extremely honoured to be recognized with these awards. The two projects showcase the range of our expertise and talents, which we apply with equal passion to monumental institutional buildings and smaller, architectural gems” said Julia Gersovitz, EVOQ Director.

 

About the CAHP and the National Trust for Canada

The Canadian Association of Heritage Professionals (CAHP) is a non-profit organization that provides stewardship for cultural heritage resources, promotes the highest standards of heritage conservation principles and practice, and fosters and promotes public and legislative support for the conservation of heritage resources. The National Trust for Canada is a membership-based organization and charity established by the Government of Canada dedicated to promoting the conservation, understanding and appreciation of our nation’s heritage buildings, historic places and cultural landscapes.

CAHP Awards 2016 | ACECP Programme de Prix 2016 

Back to News

Contact us

Montreal 1435 St-Alexandre Street, Suite 1000 Montreal, Quebec H3A 2G4 T. 514 393-9490 F. 514 393-9498
Toronto 366 Adelaide St. East, Suite 225 Toronto, Ontario, M5A 3X9 T. 647 723-2030
PANAQ Design Iqaluit 3 Bill Mackenzie Lane, House 3602 P.O. Box 2170 Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0 T. 867 909-2055 F. 867 979-2414

EVOQ remporte deux prix d’architecture prestigieux

28 octobre 2016

L’Édifice Wellington et la Résidence Blinderman reconnus pour l’excellence de leur architecture patrimoniale

La firme EVOQ Architecture (anciennement FGMDA) est fière d’annoncer qu’elle a remporté deux prix d’architecture prestigieux décernés par l’Association canadienne des experts-conseils en patrimoine (ACECP).

 

L’Édifice Wellington a reçu un prix d’Excellence dans la catégorie conservation : Architecture. Le jury a estimé que la complexité du projet avait été très bien expliquée, et ils ont apprécié la haute qualité des travaux de conception. L’édifice Wellington est l’un des bâtiments composant la Cité parlementaire, à Ottawa. EVOQ a été la firme d’architecture spécialisée en conservation du patrimoine responsable de tous les aspects des éléments historiques du complexe, y compris l’enveloppe extérieure, la marquise d’entrée ornementale et les espaces patrimoniaux intérieurs. La réhabilitation, la restauration et la conservation de ces éléments ont été conçues et gérées par Julia Gersovitz, Eric Stein et Neil McNulty. La firme NORR Ltée fut l’expert-conseil principal.

La Résidence Blinderman a reçu un prix d’Excellence dans la catégorie conservation : Petits et coquets. Le jury a trouvé que la soumission était excellente, et ils ont apprécié l’intervention minimale et le respect du site. La résidence, où a déjà habité l’architecte de renom Percy Nobbs, se trouve à Westmount. La conception et la gestion du projet ont été assurées par Julia Gersovitz, Rosanne Moss et Giovanni Diodati.

Ces prix ont été remis lors de la Conférence de la Fiducie nationale à Hamilton, en Ontario, le 21 octobre 2016. « Nous sommes extrêmement honorés de cette marque de reconnaissance. Les deux projets primés mettent en évidence tout notre éventail d’expertise et de talents, que nous appliquons avec autant de passion aux bâtiments institutionnels monumentaux qu’aux petits joyaux architecturaux », a déclaré Julia Gersovitz, directrice d’EVOQ.

 

À propos de l’ACECP et de la Fiducie nationale du Canada

L’Association canadienne des experts-conseils en patrimoine (ACECP) est un organisme à but non lucratif qui assume l’intendance des ressources patrimoniales culturelles, fait la promotion des plus hautes normes en matière de conservation patrimoniale, et favorise et encourage le soutien du public et des législateurs à la conservation des ressources patrimoniales. La Fiducie nationale du Canada est une association et un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré. Elle a été constituée par le gouvernement du Canada et se consacre à promouvoir la préservation, la compréhension et l’appréciation des bâtiments patrimoniaux, des lieux historiques et des paysages culturels du pays.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Retour à la liste des nouvelles