Giovanni Diodati

OAQ OAA RAIC FAPT CAHPdiodati@evoqarchitecture.com

Giovanni (John) Diodati is a Senior Associate at EVOQ Architecture. He joined the firm in 1999 as an Associate, establishing a leadership role and developing expertise in materials conservation and traditional building techniques. He is known for the quality and accuracy of his building envelope diagnostics and remediation strategies. Working closely with leading conservators, John has developed an in-depth understanding of technical and management issues related to building restorations and rehabilitations. His award-winning portfolio includes some of the most significant historical buildings in Canada.

A Montrealer and a graduate of McGill University’s School of Architecture, John is actively involved in the architectural and heritage conservation community. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Association for Preservation Technology International (1999-2003, and since 2008) and as Vice-President since 2015.

He has chaired numerous professional committees including the Ordre des Architectes du Québec Professional Development Committee (2006-2008), the RAIC Professional Development Committee (since 2009), the Association for Preservation Technology International Conferences Committee (since 2008), and l’institut de la maçonnerie du Québec’s Technical Committee (2005–2008).

John is an effective communicator, skilled at providing insights into the theory and practice of heritage conservation. He has lectured at the Université de Montréal, Collège de l’immobilier du Québec, and Heritage Montreal.

 

Feature Projects

Sir George-Étienne Cartier Monument

Rideau Hall

McGill University Arts Building

St.George’s Anglican Church

McGill University

West Block of Parliament

Jean-Talon Train Station

FACE School

La Face Cachée de la Pomme Cider Mill

Le 357c

Gare Union

 

 

Contact us

Montreal 1435 St-Alexandre Street, Suite 1000 Montreal, Quebec H3A 2G4 T. 514 393-9490 F. 514 393-9498
Toronto 366 Adelaide St. East, Suite 225 Toronto, Ontario, M5A 3X9 T. 647 723-2030
PANAQ Design Iqaluit 3 Bill Mackenzie Lane, House 3602 P.O. Box 2170 Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0 T. 867 909-2055 F. 867 979-2414

Giovanni Diodati

OAQ OAA IRAC FAPT ACECPdiodati@evoqarchitecture.com

Giovanni (John) Diodati est un collaborateur senior chez EVOQ Architecture. Il s’est joint à EVOQ en 1999 à titre de collaborateur. Sa grande expertise en tant que spécialiste des enjeux de conservation des matériaux et des techniques de construction traditionnelles, lui permettent d’établir un rôle de leadership. Il est reconnu pour la qualité et la précision de ses diagnostics et ses stratégies de remédiation d’enveloppe de bâtiment. En travaillant auprès de maître conservateurs-restaurateurs, John a pu approfondir sa compréhension des problématiques techniques et de la gestion des projets de réhabilitation et restauration. Son portfolio de projets primés inclue certain des plus importants bâtiments historiques du Canada.

Natif de Montréal, il est diplômé en architecture de l’école d’architecture de l’Université McGill et il est très actif et impliqué dans la communauté de la conservation du patrimoine architectural. Il a siégé sur le conseil d’administration de l’Association internationale pour la préservation et ses techniques (1999-2003),  depuis 2008 il préside le Comité de développement professionnel et depuis 2015 sur le comité exécutif en tant que vice-président.

Il a présidé de nombreux comités professionnels, tel que le Comité de développement professionnel (2006-2008) au sein de l’ordre des architectes du Québec, depuis 2009 au sein du Comité de développement professionnel de l’IRAC et de 2005-2008, le Comité technique à l’institut de la maçonnerie du Québec.

John est un communicateur efficace et animateur habile, il partage aisément la théorie et la pratique de la conservation du patrimoine. Il a été conférencier à l’université de Montréal, au Collège de l’immobilier du Québec et à Héritage Montréal.

Projets sélectionnés

Monument Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Rideau Hall

Pavillon des Arts de l’Université McGill

Église Anglicane Saint-Georges

Université McGill

Édifice de l’Ouest du Parlement

Gare Jean-Talon

l’École FACE

Cidrerie La Face Cachée de la Pomme

Le 357c

Gare Union