Julia Gersovitz, O.C.

OAQ OAA CAHP FAPT FRAIC AANB AAAjgersovitz@evoqarchitecture.com514 393-9490 / 206

Julia Gersovitz O.C. is one of EVOQ’s co-founders and leads the firm’s large-scale heritage projects. Julia began her career in conservation when the discipline was still undeveloped in Canada. She is considered a national leader in the field of conservation and the rehabilitation of historic buildings.  Combining heritage protection with design, her architectural approach aims at maintaining or re-establishing the relevance of buildings of all ages for the present and the future.

Julia has a thorough understanding of cultural, economic, functional and regulatory issues related to making interventions on heritage sites. Her ability to reconcile protection needs with contemporary expectations has been recognized in numerous award-winning projects.

In addition to her practice, Julia is a Professor of Practice at the McGill University School of Architecture where she has taught conservation and history courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels since 1980. She is also an Adjunct Professor at the University of Montreal in the Master’s of Heritage Conservation Program. She continues to be a visiting professor in Canada and abroad. Julia has served as a member of numerous design review commissions, at both the provincial and municipal levels. Her community engagement has included directorships on the boards of various not-for-profit organizations, including Heritage Montreal.

In 2015, Julia was honoured with the Gabrielle Léger Medal by the National Trust for Canada for lifetime achievement in conservation in Canada. In 2018, Julia was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, by Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, for her contributions to heritage conservation in Canada and abroad.

Feature projects

West Block of Parliament

Wellington Building

Rideau Hall

McGill University Arts Building

St. George’s Anglican Church

Sir George-Étienne Cartier Monument

Jean-Talon Train Station

St. Patrick’s Basilica

Gault Hotel

Le 357c

Union Station



Contact us

Montreal 1435 St-Alexandre Street, Suite 1000 Montreal, Quebec H3A 2G4 T. 514 393-9490 F. 514 393-9498
Ottawa 44 Byward Market Square, Suite 210 Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A2 T. 613 518-2165
Toronto 75 Sherbourne St, Suite 503 Toronto, Ontario, M5A 2P9 T. 647 723-2030
PANAQ Design Iqaluit 3 Bill Mackenzie Lane, House 3602 P.O. Box 2170 Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0 T. 867 979-2055 F. 867 979-2414
EVOQ Stratégies

Julia Gersovitz, O.C.

OAQ OAA ACECP FAPT FIRAC AANB AAAjgersovitz@evoqarchitecture.com514 393-9490 / 206

Julia Gersovitz est co-fondatrice d’EVOQ et dirige les grands projets de la firme réalisés en contexte patrimonial. Julia a amorcé sa carrière en conservation alors que cette discipline était encore peu développée au Canada. Son parcours professionnel en a fait l’une des grandes spécialistes de la conservation patrimoniale au pays. En combinant protection et conception, sa démarche architecturale vise à rétablir ou à maintenir la pertinence des bâtiments de tous âges à travers le présent et en prévision de l’avenir.

Julia possède une compréhension approfondie des enjeux culturels, économiques, fonctionnels et réglementaires liés à toute intervention projetée en contexte patrimonial. Sa capacité à concilier les nécessités de protection du patrimoine avec les enjeux et les attentes actuelles a été reconnue dans le cadre de nombreux projets primés et la désigne comme chef de file national dans le domaine de la conservation et de la réhabilitation de bâtiments historiques.

En parallèle à sa pratique, Julia est professeure en pratique à l’école d’architecture de l’Université McGill, où elle enseigne la conservation et l’histoire de l’architecture au baccalauréat et à la maîtrise depuis 1980. Elle est professeure associée à l’Université de Montréal dans le cadre du programme de maîtrise en conservation du patrimoine.  Elle est régulièrement professeure invitée au Canada et à l’étranger. Son expertise et son engagement communautaire l’ont également menée à siéger sur de nombreux comités consultatifs de design aux niveaux provincial et municipal, et à diverses organisations à but non-lucratif, dont près de vingt ans au conseil d’administration d’Héritage Montréal.

En 2015, Julia a reçu la médaille Gabrielle Léger pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations professionnelles. En 2018, Son Excellence la très honorable Julie Payette, gouverneure générale du Canada, a nommé Julia au rang d’officier de l’Ordre du Canada pour sa contribution à la préservation du patrimoine au Canada et à l’étranger.

Projets Sélectionnés

Édifice de l’Ouest du Parlement

Édifice Wellington

Rideau Hall

Pavillon des Arts de l’Université McGill

Église anglicane Saint-Georges

Monument Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Gare Jean-Talon

Basilique de Saint-Patrick

Hôtel Gault

Le 357c

Gare Union



Nous joindre

Montréal 1435, rue St-Alexandre, bureau 1000 Montréal, Québec H3A 2G4 T. 514 393-9490 F. 514 393-9498
Ottawa 44 Byward Market Square, bureau 210 Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A2 T. 613 518-2165
Toronto 366, rue Adelaide, Est, Bureau 225 Toronto, Ontario, M5A 3X9 T. 647 723-2030
PANAQ Design Iqaluit 3, Bill Mackenzie Lane, House 3602 P.O. Box 2170 Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0 T. 867 979-2055 F. 867 979-2414
EVOQ Stratégies